Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

Astrology in Action

Fundamentals of Astrology

The fundamentals of astrology is where you will discover the basics of astrology. You can find astrology, astrology and more astrology from qualities, essential dignities, elements and more.

Ptolemy's Table of Essential Dignities of the Planets


These are the qualities of the signs.


Angular equals Cardinal. Angular signs are cardinal in nature and these signs and houses are the strongest of the quadruplicites. Angular or Cardinal houses are identified as the 1st, 4th, 7th and 10th houses. Cardinal signs are enterprising, action-oriented and initiators of all things. These signs are active, movable and responsible for beginnings. Cardinal signs or moveable signs initiate the beginning of a new season. These zodiac signs are: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn.


Succedent equals Fixed. Succedent signs are fixed in nature and these signs and houses are the neutral quadruplicites. Succedent or Fixed houses are identified as the 2nd, 5th, 8th and 11th houses. Fixed signs are stable, stubborn and they continue what the Cardinals could or did not finish. Fixed signs continually resist change and are responsible for maintaining. These zodiac signs are: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius.


Cadent equals Mutable. Cadent signs are of a mutable nature and these signs and houses are the weakest of the quadruplicites. Cadent or Mutable signs are identified as the 3rd, 6th, 9th and 12th houses. Mutable signs are adaptable, changeable and they bring to fruition what the Cardinals and Fixed could or did not. They often signify instability. Mutable signs or common or even dual signs, to which they are referred, destroy and are responsible for endings. These zodiac signs are: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces.


These are the elements of the signs.


The Fire element inspires and drives us. It seeks truth.

Fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. Fire-ruled people inspire and lead. They are impractical dreamers, yet they are creative and daring. They are represented by the male yang energy.


The Water element cleanses us. It seeks equanimity.

Water signs are Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces. Water-ruled people are reliable and intuitive. They are emotionally sensitive. They are represented by the female yin energy.


The Air element teaches and enlightens us and helps us understand. It seeks knowledge.

Air signs are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius. Air-ruled people are thinkers, and they are mentally driven individuals. They are unreliable, yet social. They are represented by the male yang energy.


The Earth element grounds us and provides a foundation from which we can build. It seeks wisdom.

Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn. Earth-ruled people are reliable and sturdy. They are practical builders, and they are hard workers. They are a grounding force. They are represented by the female yin energy.